Ranking every Ultimate Fighter winner

The Ultimate Fighter 8 Finale
The Ultimate Fighter 8 Finale / Jon P. Kopaloff/GettyImages
20 of 23

8. Tony Ferguson

Tony Ferguson competed in and won Ultimate Fighter 13: Team Lesnar vs. Team dos Santos, fighting for Team Lesnar. Ferguson is one of the most exciting fighters in the UFC and that journey started on TUF when he beat Justin Edwards, Ryan McGillivray, and Chuck O'Neil all by finish. Ferguson would go on to finish Ramsey Nijem in the first round to win the welterweight final.

Returning to his natural weight class, Ferguson would go on a pretty unreal 12-fight win streak at lightweight, which included wins over former champions Rafael dos Anjos and Anthony Pettis, among others. Ferguson would win the interim title against Kevin Lee at UFC 216 and be scheduled to face Khabib Nurmagomedov to unify the title, unfortunately, every fight scheduled between the two has been cursed, getting canceled four times.

Ferguson would be stripped of the interim belt due to injury, but get another shot at interim gold against Justin Gaethje at UFC 249, coming up short. Ferguson has been on a skid lately, winless in his last five, most recently to fellow TUF winner Nate Diaz at UFC 279.

7. Matt Serra

Matt Serra was the first Ultimate Fighter winner to win a championship, winning TUF 4: The Comeback after previously going 4-4 with the UFC. Serra would beat Pete Spratt and Shonie Carter before defeating Chris Lytle to win a welterweight title shot against Georges St-Pierre. Serra would score one of the biggest upsets in UFC history with a first-round finish of GSP. Serra would lose in the subsequent rematch and go 1-2 from there on out, last fighting at UFC 119, retiring in 2013, and being inducted into the UFC Hall of Fame in 2018 as a well-deserved pioneer.