A detailed timeline of every UFC champion since the start of the new millennium [UPDATED FEB 2024]

A list of every single UFC champion since the year 2000.
UFC belt
UFC belt / Alex Bierens de Haan/GettyImages
9 of 14

New UFC champions in 2018

April 7 

  • Khabib Nurmagomedov won the vacant UFC lightweight title when he defeated Al Iaquinta at UFC 223.
  • Conor McGregor was stripped of his lightweight title due to inactivity.
  • Tony Ferguson was stripped of his interim lightweight title due to injury.

June 9 – Colby Covington won the interim UFC welterweight title when he defeated Rafael dos Anjos at UFC 225.

July 7 – Daniel Cormier won the UFC heavyweight title when he defeated Stipe Miocic at UFC 226. With this win, Cormier becomes a double champion, holding both the heavyweight and light heavyweight titles.

Aug. 4 – Henry Cejudo won the UFC flyweight title when he defeated Demetrious Johnson at UFC 227.

Sept. 7 – Nicco Montaño was stripped of her UFC flyweight title after she was forced to withdraw from UFC 228 due to weight issues.

Sept. 8 ( UFC 231) 

  • Colby Covington stripped of his interim welterweight title.
  • Valentina Shevchenko won the vacant UFC women’s flyweight title when she defeated Joanna Jędrzejczyk.

Dec. 28 – Daniel Cormier vacated his light heavyweight title.

Dec 29 (UFC 232) 

  • Jon Jones won the UFC light heavyweight title when he defeated Alexander Gustafsson at UFC 232.
  • Amanda Nunes won the UFC featherweight title when she defeated Cris “Cyborg” Justino to become the first women’s double champion.