A detailed timeline of every UFC champion since the start of the new millennium [UPDATED FEB 2024]

A list of every single UFC champion since the year 2000.
UFC belt
UFC belt / Alex Bierens de Haan/GettyImages
12 of 14

New UFC champions in 2022

Jan. 22 - Deiveson Figueiredo wins the flyweight title back when he defeated Brandon Moreno at UFC 270.

April 9 - Aljamain Sterling returns from injury time off to defeat Petr Yan again, retains undisputed bantamweight title.

May 7 - UFC 274:

  • Charles Oliveira was stripped of the title for missing weight after controversial scale issues. He defeated Justin Gaethje a day later but the title remained vacant.
  • Carla Esparza narrowly snatches the strawweight title from Rose Namajunas after a boring five-round title fight where no strikes were thrown.

June 12 - Jiří Procházka stuns with a final second submission of Glover Teixeira to become the new light heavyweight champion.

July 30 - Brandon Moreno wins the interim flyweight title when he defeated Kai Kara-France after Deiveson Figueiredo is injured.

Aug. 20 - Leon Edwards stuns the Salt Lake City crowd with a highlight reel KO of Kamaru Usman to win middleweight title.

Oct. 22 - Islam Makhachev wins mentor Khabib Nurmagomedov's old title when he defeated Charles Oliviera for the vacant lightweight title.

Nov. 12 - UFC 281:

  • Alex Pereira shocks with fifth-round KO of Israel Adesanya to earn the middleweight title.
  • Zhang Weili regains her strawweight title by defeating Carla Esparza.

Nov. 23 - Jiří Procházka suffers shoulder injury and vacates his title.

Dec. 10 - UFC light heavyweight title remains vacant after Jan Błachowicz and Magomed Ankalaev fight to a draw.