A detailed timeline of every UFC champion since the start of the new millennium [UPDATED FEB 2024]

A list of every single UFC champion since the year 2000.
UFC belt
UFC belt / Alex Bierens de Haan/GettyImages
11 of 14

New UFC champions in 2020

May 9 - Justin Gaethje defeated Tony Ferguson to claim the interim lightweight title.

May 24 - Henry Cejudo announces his retirement, the bantamweight title is now vacant.

July 12 - Petr Yan wins vacant featherweight title when he defeats Jose Aldo at UFC 251.

July 19 - Deiveson Figueiredo becomes undisputed flyweight champion when he defeated Joseph Benavidez.

Aug 17 - Jon Jones vacates the light heavyweight title, announces desire to fight for heavyweight title.

Sept. 27 - Jan Błachowicz defeated Dominick Reyes to become the new undisputed light heavyweight champion,

Oct. 24 - Khabib Nurmagomedov retires from MMA following the defeat of Justin Gaethje. The lightweight title is vacant.

New UFC champions in 2021

March 6 - Aljamain Sterling wins the featherweight title via a controversial head kick after Petr Yan was disqualified.

March 27- Francis Ngannou becomes heavyweight champion when he defeated the interim champion Ciryl Gane at UFC 270.

April 24 - Rose Namajunas defeated Zhang Weili at UFC 261 to become the strawweight champion.

May 15 - Charles Oliveira wins the vacant lightweight title when he defeated Michael Chandler at UFC 262.

June 12 - Brandon Moreno wins the flyweight title after (finally) defeating Deiveson Figueiredo.

Aug 7 - Ciryl Gane regains his interim heavyweight title when he defeated Derrick Lewis. Ngannou was sidelined due to a knee injury.

Oct. 30 - UFC 267:

  • Glover Teixeira defeated Jan Błachowicz to become the new light heavyweight champion.
  • Petr Yan wins interim bantamweight title while Sterling recovered from neck surgery.

Dec. 11 - Julianna Pena defeated Amanda Nunes to become the fourth women's bantamweight champion in UFC history.